Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this

The future of society is in the hands of its youth, hence a concentrated effort to set the most ideal environment for them. This has lead to a discussion about whether the responsibility of aiding them on this journey of growing up should be left to the school or to the parents. This essay explores this topic and explains my enthusiasm for a hybrid approach.

On the one hand, schools have always been known to be the ultimate hub for learning, ever since the conception of society. It is no wonder why so many believe that this is where the sculpting and molding of a future citizen should begin. For one thing, schools have everything learners could ever need to be able to jumpstart their growth. From standardized learning materials, professional educators to scientifically designed timetables, all of these attributes aid in one’s journey of becoming the ideal individual. Furthermore, the enviroment schools provide, rich in social interaction, serves as a way for learners to practice building interpersonal relationship, a key step in becoming emotionally intelligent.

On the other hand, many have made the convincing notion that there are many benefits to letting parents take the wheel. To herald this argument, it should be established that home is the number one safe space for many youngsters. What this means is that the people within that safespace, i.e. the parents, have easy access to the process of development of the child. Vice versa, youths also find it more comfortable reaching out to their parents for guidance and counselling rather than a teacher, for instance. From there, the adults can adhere to the need of the young learner so they can thrive within the crucial early years. It is this ease of modification that proves incredibly compelling. Despite all of this, only when looking at the big picture can the true answer for the big argument in the opening arises; Both of these sources have their own advantages and shortcoming, but when combined, they form a rock-solid core in the assistance of development.

Overall, there are merits to the either the choice of allocating mentoring responsibility to parents or to schools, with both having an interweaving relationship. And as such, the best outcome in creating good citizens of the future world shall not be produced lest a hybrid approach inclusive of both mediums is properly implemented.