Some people think that people who chose a job early and keep doing it are more likely to have a satisfying career life than those who frequently change jobs.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is claimed that people embarking their career early and keep pursuing it for a long time are more likely to gain job satisfaction than those who usually switch their job. Despite the benefits of changing jobs, it is my opinion that having a long-term commitment within a field is more advantageous.

On the one hand, there is a variety of reasons why staffs have a tendency of choosing to seek for new jobs. Firstly, it gives workers an easier access to master a wide range of vital soft skills. By doing this, they have ample opportunities to challenge themselves in different working environments, which afford them chances to build up their social network and a wide range of necessary job skills. For instance, some financial analysts who are extremely professional at analyzing financial statements and economic trends, may find it more engaging to learn presentation skill when they move to be spellbinders. Secondly, a number of seniors find suitable paths after failing at several first jobs. Let’s take a Vietnamese businessman – Quoc Anh as a telling example, not until the age of over 40, after leaving some positions as manufacturing managers in many factories, did he become successful with starting-up a retail outlets chain. Moreover, after some time working in a company, those who find it monotonous to continue staying in the current position may change their direction.

On the other hand, I believe that the better opportunity of professional promotion by committing to one company is more preferable. Initially, staffs are bestowed upon the chances to get fast-tracked promotion in their career ladders. It is undeniable that with longer periods of dedication for the development of the organizations, employees are more highly appreciated. This promotion method is applied in countries with deep-rooted employment norms such as Korea and Japan, where employees get fixed career promotion path based on their working time and loyalty rather than outstanding performance. Besides, they also earn bigger remuneration package to meet their needs such as luxurious cars or houses. Furthermore, committing with a job is conducive to strengthening employees’ prestige. Irrefutably, on the ground of deeply understanding about the companies they work for, staffs thoroughly aware of strengths and deficiencies of the businesses. Thus, not only could they contribute valuable ideas to improve the productivity, but they also give birth of crucious advices to enhance competitive advances . As a result, they mark themselves on other’s respect, leading to increase their job satisfaction.

By the way of conclusion, although switching jobs time at time can be advantageous in their own ways, I opine that people should be loyal to one organization for the professional promotion prospect which would bring them a satisfactory career and secure a better livelihood.