Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a widely-held view among people about whether physical strength is overshadowed by mental attitude for athletes in order to gain accomplishment in sports. From my point of view, I would argue that both these elements play an equally vital role in success.

On the one hand, it is no doubt true that athletes would only be considered to be athletes’ eligibility only if they meet certain required muscle strength. First, this would give them the ability to be at the peak of their condition, thereby facilitating outstanding performances. Second, without physical stamina, a sportsperson is unable to cope with the extremely intensive prolonged training, which is definitely a requisite part of playing sports. Therefore, no matter how talented they are in their fields, they would soon fall behind in comparison to others if they don’t practice regularly and boost their physical limitation.

On the other hand, strong mental toughness must be an indispensable factor attributing to success in sports. For instance, in a tense match, athletes who are in possession of an excellent mentality would be able to analyze the situation logically as well as to come up with brilliant strategies. In such cases, they could become perceptive of inconspicuous advantages which could likely not be conceived by those who are worried and anxious. Besides, if trainees cannot foster a competitive spirit, or even a win-at-all-costs attitude, they may be devoid of concentration and lost their determination after a few hours of practice.

In conclusion, both physical and mental strength are necessary to become successful in sport. Hence, neither should be overlooked nor taken lightly.