Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

You should write at least 250 words.

People have different views about whether the strength of body or of mentality is more crucial to get succeed in sport. While a strong body can bring in various advantages in playing sports, I believe that any successful sport players must have a powerful spirit.

On the one hand, physical strength can boost the players’ performance when they are in the competitions. This mode of strength allows athletes not only to perform general sport skills such as running, jumping, or any other tasks but also to reduce the risk of injuries when competing. In soccer, for example, a greater muscular player can run and chase after the ball much faster than either his teammates or rivals who are weaker. Or a taller goalkeeper can easily catch the coming ball while a shorter one must jump high to do this. It can also be seen that World Cup champions have always been Western teams, not Asian ones thanks to being born with greater physical strength.

On the other hand, it is perhaps even more important for sport players as well as athletes to build a strong mentality. A powerful spirit is the key factor determining the success of a player or the whole team. If a player, regardless of physical power, has not got an ambition to win the game, he will not put an attempt to perform or finish his tasks, hence losing the championship to the competitors. Take a swimming competition as an example, assuming that all participants have the same physical strength, the more ambitious athletes will swim harder and faster than the ones swimming with no efforts which should not be in competitive environment.

In conclusion, I can understand why players or athletes work out or practice on a regular basis, but it seems to me that a powerful spirit is much more desirable in sport.