In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way.

Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Advertisements have always been a hotly debated issue. Many corporations always put an emphasis that their products are new in ads. In my opinion, the reason for highlighting the latest goods is to beat other competitors and this phenomenon is not a good development.

There are several reasons why businesses make an attempt to emphasise that their products are new. Yet, the most important argument is for competing with other brands. In other words, there are hundreds of products in the same trade, which means, customers have a diversity of goods to opt for. As a result, businesses have to signify that their products are new to grab clients' attention, hence, fostering their sales and increasing the brand’s awareness. Take Sunlight, which is a popular Vietnamese name in dishwasher detergent manufacture, as an illustration. In advertising, this brand always emphasises that their products are more recent and original than others. Therefore, this dishwasher detergent brand can successfully catch consumers' attention and leaves them with the impression that this brand may be exceptional in comparison with others. What can be inferred from this example is that spotlighting a new product is one of the most effective approaches to beat other competitors.

From my perspective, businesses emphasizing their new products is a negative development. To be more specific, many institutions depend on the label "latest" to increase the price of products, which may lead to inflation as well. Apple serves as a perfect example for this. Annually, this company introduces users to the latest versions of Iphone and they often emphasises new services and tools which are said to be superior compared to the old ones. Indeed, the latest Iphones are always at the highest price despite the fact that those latest updates do not necessarily boost the whole price of the products, which then causes inflation. Consequently, the governments should control prices of latest products and adopt a strict law on rigid screening for those goods.

In conclusion, businesses emphasizing their new products in order to compete with other brands in the trade market. However, I believe that it is a negative development due to its unnecessarily costly price which may be a triggering cause of inflation.