Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged.

Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete

become more useful adults.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have various views about whether youngsters should be encouraged to be competitive or co-operative. While a sense of competition can be of use in some situations, I do concur with the idea that adolescents should learn how to co-operate with others.

On the one hand, it is understandable why people advocate competitiveness in the young’s characteristic. The key rationale is that children have tendency to see competitiveness as a source of motivation and, therefore, they will try their best to knock out the rivals. For example, teachers often hold some games in their lessons to introduce a spirit of competition into students’ studying, which makes contribution to their concentration and effort to be outstanding. Moreover, it is obvious that youngsters are capable of being conscious of independence and boosting their self-confidence via the healthy rivalry because that goes a long way for them to show their performances. Finally, the confidence and their abilities give them a careful preparation for the competitive lives and career prospects in the long term, such as job interviews or job markets.

On the other hand, I do believe that co-operation is more significant for children to succeed in the future. Firstly, adolescents with a sense of co-operation tend to broaden their horizon through listening and learning from excellent peers to become the better version of themselves. Furthermore, team collaboration skills are of profound importance for the youth to land a decent job and climb the career ladder in the future. In workplace, it is undeniable that they are expected to work in teams, have abilities in supervising and supporting. In addition to that, working together helps them to facilitate more close-knit relationships with other people, which has a positive effect on their lives after.

In conclusion, while a sense of competition brings adolescents many benefits, it seems to me that co-operative attitude is more desirable in the adult life.