Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Several people believe that encouraging competitive attitude in children is important. From other perspective, children that were taught to help each other are more reliable once they reach adulthood. This essay will assess both arguments and give opinions in the end.

To begin with, competitive attitude are important in some sense. it had been proven to be vital as children will give their best when they are solving task that was given to them. These competitive attitude has exist and inherited from older generation to younger generation. Often times, this competitive attitude has become a standard for some family to figure out how well have they taught their children. This is particularly true in Asian family where children are encouraged to have a lot of achievements and be better compared to others as it has become a key of success in life for them. However, because of encouragement, children usually suffer from high stress for test or competitive events as they have only one thing in mind which is be better compared to others.

It might be true that a sense of competition give a good results for children. In contrast, cooperation are more favoured for some people because of better value that a child can obtain from it. Firstly, cooperation build a long healthy relationship between people as there is no competition happened. The cooperative behaviour also favoured by many people as it becomes one personality often times a trademark for a person. In some studies, cooperation helped teach a person to become more mature than before. For instances, there are a lot of companies that is looking for people that can work well as a team and reliable for handling tasks. Without a background of cooperation, one is not expected to be helpful at all and soon they might fall as a result of their own unwillingness to help.

In conclusion, competitive behaviour should be encouraged to some extent but it should be balanced out with cooperation to mature one mind. In my opinion, it is more necessary for one stay cooperative with each other compared than be competitive as it is one factor to reach maturity.