Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have widely differing views about whether youngsters should be motivated to be more competitive or learn to work collaboratively to become responsible adults. In my opinion, I believe that these both skills have an equally enormous impact on children’s development.

On the one hand, cooperation skill, without doubt, plays a vitally crucial role in shaping useful adults. There is no denying the fact that working together minimize the risk of alienation among young people. Since they are all aiming toward the common goal, each of members may feel responsible for working thoroughly with others by communicating or developing rapport to fulfill the tasks. For example, to achieve the highest prize in any competition, participants in a group must discuss and planning with others to come up with new ideas and solutions that demand all members’ efforts.

On the other hand, there are reasons why adolescents are beneficial from learning to compete. Firstly, teenagers can, up to a point, learn to accept defeat as graciously as achieve the first prize by undertake the challenges. This is because winning is not always about coming in first place but to draw a great value of experiences from that to equip themselves to become self-sufficient adults in later life. Secondly, life is about competition. Hence, if we eliminate competition, we could be in danger of creating a generation of children who have a sense of entitlement. For example, many youngsters born in well-appointed conditions may take for granted the things that they receive from their parents which are difficult to acquire.

All things considered, while there are some reasons to prioritize cooperation in children’s life, my own view is that both competition and co-operate skill are equally measure to determine more balance young adults.