Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Other think students should spend time on more important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People hold different views of spending time studying the fundamental parts of food and its preparation. While some individuals argue that school boys and girls should split their time for learning the science of food and ways to prepare it, I wholeheartedly believe in using that amount of time for improving their core modules.

On one hand, it is undeniable that studying the basic of food and the preparation has several advantages on students. One of the major benefits is that pupils tend to have a healthier lifestyle. In fact, a large proportion of students consume a certain type of food too much, which leads to binge eating. By going on a course on finding out the ingredients in food and its effect on human health, they can have knowledge of forming a better diet. To illustrate, realizing the importance of vegetables on student’s everyday life, they will gain a deeper insight into changing their daily routine with more fiber intake. Regarding to the positive effects of learning to prepare food, school boys and girls can have awareness of how to cook effectively and retain almost all nutrients in raw food. A case point is that some cooking methods like steaming of stir-frying are better than grilling and roasting because they are prone to put people at risk of developing some forms of cancer.

On the other hand, I firmly support the opinion that students focus more on potentially important courses like Mathematics. Learning those subjects frequently can help them develop cognitive skills as well as logical thinking, which is vital to their future life and occupation. In contrast, pupils still live well without culinary skills due to the fact that they can buy food in supermarkets, consume healthy food in restaurants or even hiring professional chef for a well-adjusted diet.

In conclusion, while equipping themselves with knowledge of food and cooking is beneficial, I completely agree that students should pay more attention and effort to the important subjects, Mathematics in particular.