Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Too much finance has been invested in conserving historic architecture is a common belief of a few residents. Therefore, they suppose that these old constructions should be demolished for the new ones to take place. I would contend that this opinion favors more disadvantages above advantages for such reasons.

First of all, we should maintain old buildings for the fact that they have been considered as historical witnesses and their cultural values are long-winded. It is obvious that keeping these structures has helped the countries to attract many tourists every year as the visitors tend to contemplate the beauty and history of the buildings. As a result, by having these buildings, a nation seems to get financial benefits from travelling. The Immaculate Conception Cathedral Basilica, which is located in Ho Chi Minh City of Vietnam, has been iconic for the advantage of my idea. It is also being repaired and is still a well-known tourist destination that brings many profits to the people of this city.

Besides, funding the appearance of the old structures is a great methodology to educate the young generations about patriotic spirit. We can easily come across young learners visiting museums on school trips. Obviously, adolescents that equipped with historical knowledge hidden in the constructions would be expected to take pride in their race.

In conclusion, although some people may argue that keeping historic buildings should be knocked down for the safety and development of modern society, I strongly believe that the old buildings should be maintained for all of the benefits which they bring to us.