Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old

buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what

extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a current belief among the general public that historical architecture should be demolished instead of conserved because too much finance has been invested in maintaining these constructions. Although I somewhat agree that keeping these sites may be harmful to the safety of the residents, I still believe that the merits of historical building maintenance outweigh the drawbacks for the economic development that they bring to a country.

Firstly, old buildings are usually considered historical witnesses and their cultural values are long-winded. It is obvious that keeping these structures helps countries to attract many tourists every year as the visitors tend to contemplate the beauty and history of the buildings. Hence, by having these buildings, a nation financially benefits from tourism to develop its economy. The Immaculate Conception Cathedral Basilica, which is located in Vietnam, is a clear illustration of my idea. It is also being repaired and is still a well-known tourist destination that brings many profits to the people of this city.

Besides, keeping the historical sites is a great methodology to educate the young generations about patriotic spirit. As young learners usually visit museums on school trips, they tend to take pride in their race because of understanding the values hidden in the constructions.

However, there are some instances when historical constructions may threaten the safety of the public. Being built decades ago, it is common for these historical heritages to be damaged by natural conditions. Consequently, the damages may put the safety of local people at risk. For example, cracked walls of the sites may lead to the collapse of these constructions, which may cause serious loss to the locals.

In conclusion, although I partially agree that keeping historic buildings should be knocked down for safety, I still believe that the old buildings should be maintained for all of the benefits which they bring to us, including economic development and patriotism.