Some people think that universities should not provide so much theoretical knowledge but give more practical training throughout their courses. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

These days, many people argue that university students should experience more practical training rather than just acquire academic knowledge. In my opinion, I totally support this viewpoint because internships and courses in life skills better prepare the students for life after graduation.

To commence with, only giving theoretical lessons may decrease student’s interest in their major. It is due to the fact that lectures covering only theory requires reading, listening and writing which is a tedious and monotonous process. As a result, many students are unwilling to attend these classes enthusiastically and voluntarily. Moreover, if universities solely have theory-based method of educating, students may be convinced that they do not need to attend higher education because they feel that they can find and read these materials themselves at home.

In addition, practical training during the courses will be helpful for students in their later life. These classes provide students with chances to experience with all their senses, instead of just reading the boring thick books. While doing it practically, it can be in form of experiments, real-life projects or educational trips, the knowledge and the whole learning experience stays in their mind for long. Furthermore, this helps these students to get accustomed to real life’s situations so that they are able to solve problems better when facing similar ones in their later life. For example, medical students should have a chance to observe a real operation and to practice on their own after attending theoretical lessons. This helps prevent them from making minor but lethal mistakes when working as surgeons in a hospital.

To conclude, it is true that universities should not give too much emphasis on theory due to their lengthy and boring nature. Rather, I believe that students, when fully equipped with practical skills in university, will perform better in their future job.