Some people think that universities should not provide so much theoretical knowledge but give more practical training throughout their courses.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Many people believe that universities should focus more on practical aspects of learning rather than emphasizing just theoretical knowledge. Well, I would completely agree with the statement because, through practical and hands-on learning, a student is able to grasp concepts better and retain the information for a longer period of time.

In this fast-paced world, effective methods of learning are the need of an hour. This effectiveness can be established by opting for practical ways of learning things. For example, if a science experiment is carried out in the laboratory, a student is able to understand the deeper concepts of the experiment by conducting and observing the changes that occurred. This kind of understanding would be nearly impossible if University provides only a written document of procedure. Also, after observing things practically, students could retain this knowledge for more time and this will also help them to apply the acquired concepts in plethora of other related experiments.

Additionally, if the university only focuses on imparting theoretical knowledge, students may find learning a mundane task. In such situation, it may alsohappen that he/she discontinues the course due to lack of inner motivation and overly stressed methods of learning. For instance, we come across many examples in which during conversation between students, they find learning things through slides or presentations a tedious task. Even I find it hectic to incorporate and learn things through such methods.

Thus, I believe practical trainings definitely is a better method and should dominate the theoretical techniques of learning as this will help students to maintain the enthusiasm throughout the coursework.