Some people think young people are not suitable for important positions in the government, while other people think it is a good idea for young people to take on these positions. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether vital positions in the government should be taken by young adults. While high-level positions have been taken up by people with many years of work experience, I agree with those who believe that the government should also employ the youth as some important positions.

There is a key reason why the government should not hire young officials. In many people’s minds, the young generation is thought to be immature and inexperienced. If in charge of important departments, they might easily make decisions without thorough consideration, which may lead to dire consequences. A good example is that, the foreign affairs minister needs to quickly and properly handle the problems that may come from all over the world every minute. Without the rich experience collected from his long-time service in this field, it would be unlikely for him to fulfill his duties. Therefore, young people are not really suitable for this kind of government positions.

In spite of the above arguments, I support the view that young people should be given more opportunities to get involved in government work. The main benefit of hiring them is that they are open-minded, creative and willing to solve problems with new methods. In other words, if they notice that there are effective systems which are newly proposed, they will assess these systems instead of being confined by original measures. For instance, the education ministry and tourism bureau should be led by young people who are inspiring and innovating. They would be enthusiastic about using imaginative ways to attract students’ and visitors’ interests, which may lead to unexpected benefits.

In conclusion, experienced people are obviously appropriate for high-level government positions, but the young are equally essential for these positions.