In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.

Why is this the case?

What can be done about this problem?

Regardless of the new improvements and developments made in agriculture, people around the globe are still starving. This essay examines the reasons for this issue and a solution to curb this crisis.

There are many reasons why individuals still lack sufficient food despite enormous technological developments in the agricultural sector. One of the reasons is the governments non-challant attitude and lack of investments towards agriculture. For instance, in Nigeria, the governments budget for the agriculture sector is about 0.8% according to the 2020 Nigerian National Budget, which is significantly lower compared to the 10.5% allocated for the refurbishment of the presidential villa. Ultimately, this shows an absolute lack of priority, interest and zeal in the development of agriculture in the country. Thus, a contributory factor to starvation in the land.

A solution to this issue is for governments globally to invest greatly in agriculture and make it a key part of the nations objectives to alleviate hunger in the society. With adequate investments in new developments associated with agriculture, the government will be able to assist and encourage small-scale farmers financially, so as to evolve them into large-scale farming. This will invariably lead to the creation of sufficient food and livestock.

In addition, a part of the government investments can include the availability of plots of land at a subsidised rate for dedicated and interested farmers. This will ultimately motivate individuals to venture into the agriculture business. Consequently, the issue of hunger in the land will be quickly be forgotten.

To sum up, the causes of widespread hunger globally despite improvements in agriculture is as a result of the lack of government interest and proper investments in the agriculture sector. However, a solution to mitigate these effects is for governments around the world to view agriculture as a top priority to curb starvation in the society and invest sufficiently in agricultural businesses.