Students leave high school without learning the way how to manage their money. What are the reasons and solutions of this issue?

Nowadays there is a growing tendency of teenagers leaving highschool while they do not know how to balance the expense themselves. In my perspective, this issue stems from the lack of soft skills education and the solution for it is to provide the students chances to improve their money management.

Part of the explanation lies in the priority in the high school academic curriculum. Most of the subjects at school such as Maths, Literature and Chemistry equip students with knowledge within some special fields, however, none of these classes provides learners financial management skills. Besides, overprotection of parents is also responsible for this issue. Teenagers, especially some youngsters who have destitute childhood, have lived without worrying about money for years. As a result, many highschool students overspend their money and can not make financial decisions when they leave their parents' house to get into university or college.

There are two efficient solutions that we can bring out for this problem. Firstly, money management lectures should be taught at school in social skills class. These classes do not only provide students with budget management skills but also the awareness of making and using money . Apart from this, teenagers should be encouraged to have paid internships or part-time jobs after school to become accustomed to the difficulties in future life.

To conclude, the ignorance in money management of young people is caused mainly by the academically prior education system and the overprotection of parents. To tackle this problem, providing students with soft skills classes and encouraging them to work part time are significantly possible solutions.