Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person.

Why do you think this is the case?

With the thriving of technology, people nowadays have no need to go out for talking or getting to know each other, a smartphone can solve all these things regardless of how far you all are. Teenagers are said to prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person. To my mind, this is kind of the case, I do not completely support this way of getting to know people.

I will start by saying that stuff like social media, finding friends apps,... are just a means of helping people out communicating with others in an easy and convenient way. And they are not totally real, people just literally sit there in their house and talk to their phone. There are no physical activities like eye contact or hand gestures, which are proved to be very important to get humans closer.

Another thing I would like to mention is the way we express our genuine feelings and real traits. We can not really know each other’s personality traits when we hide ourselves behind the screen, human beings are inclined to give out the best of them and make attempts to cover the ugly side, which can lead to disappointment once people meet one another in person.

Last but not least, socialising online can be very dangerous if we do not raise enough awareness. You can not even know if the person you are chatting with really wants to make friends. Many bad guys nowadays leverage the internet as a tool to approach their targets. They can be very nice and sweet talk at first, and once you are really into and trust them, they could make you do whatever they tell you to do, and take advantage of you.

In conclusion, internet is a very good way to get to know new friends, but every token has two sides, do not trust everything you see on this base, there could be a whole set of awful things that you can not imagine under that screen.