Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person.

Why do you think this is the case?

What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Researchers suggests that several teenagers opt to talk to an other person on an online platforms when compared to meeting them in person. This is happening manily due to increased screentime for teenagers. There are muliple ways that this can be solved.

One of the main reason as to why this is happeing is that due to the recent covid-19 outbreak. Since most of the students were forced to say indoors and turn to online modes of communication to not only study but to also reach out to their friends. This has lead to children realizing that they can be connected to their friends right from the comfort of their home, even if their friend is on the other side of the world. In other words, while in the early days chidren used to only meet their friends if they ventured out of the house like to the school or playground. However now, due to the recent technological advancements, chidren are able to toggle their way from one friend to the other and chat with muliple friends at the same time. Another major reason for the adoloscents to prefer online communication over in-person meets is due to lack of leisure time. Teenagers are often riddled with a huge mount of homework and schoolwork that they need to finish regularly. On top of that, most of them even have extra-curricular activities and interests that they persue on a day-to-day basis. While this is fruitful for them in their professional career, it also takes away from their free time that they could spend meeting and ineteracting with their friends.

There are two effective solutions to encourage children to meander outside and meet their friends. First, workload for teenagers should be reduced so that they can not only excel in their studies but also get a chance to explore the outdoors. Second, more teenage friendly places should be built to encourage a safe and secure enviornment for them. Most of the common areas either cater to adults or children below 10 years of age. Establishing teenage friendly places would encourage them to venture outside of their homes.

In conclusion, reducing the educational strain on teenagers and building adoloscent friendly places would allow them to socialise in person. If these solutions can be implemented, majourity of teenagers would switch to in person meets than socialising online.