Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person.

Why do you think this is the case?

What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

It is proven that many young adults prefer networking through the screen rather than face-to-face interaction. While there are several reasons for this situation, many measures could be considered to motivate teenagers to meet up physically.

There are many reasons why teenagers like to have online social relationships. One of them is due to the modern technological advancement nowadays. Everyone has a smartphone, and many people, especially the youngsters, have several social media accounts, which allows them to make friends more easily. They may find new friends with some shared interest or hobbies, and may also get updated about their old friends through their posts on social media. For example, I often share about my day on social media so my family and friends could know how I am doing. Another reason might be that criminal rates are increasing every year, hence talking and making friends with someone they first meet might be intimidating and uncomfortable for some because of the safety reason.

To encourage young adults to have more physical gatherings, parents can help prepare some activities at home and invite their children’s friends over. This not only allows teenagers to hang out with their friends in person, but parents could also know who their children associate with, hence understand them even more. In class, teachers can give projects or assignments that require students to work in pairs or in groups, which makes them interact with one another more. Meeting with new people with the same hobbies after talking through the screen could be exciting, provided that the meeting conditions are safe and comfortable. This means for teenagers to meet face-to-face more freely but safely, parents or the school should teach them to inform regularly while hanging out and how to protect themselves in unexpected situations.

In conclusion, various reasons can lead to the preferred online socialising in youngsters. Making teenagers more willing to have physical interaction requires the contribution from both parents and the schools.