Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person.

Why do you think this is the case?

What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Today’s technological society, children tend to overuse social networks instead of getting in touch with people in real life. I believe that is an urgent situation we all have to deal with.

It would be worrisome that teenagers are excessive use of social media and this case starts from a few reasons. Firstly, parents seem to be busy these days and they don’t have time for their children so they let them play with electronic devices from a very young age. And this creates bad habits for kids to be likely addicted to social networks. Secondly, in demand of a fast society, children have to multi-task to complete their duties. For example, kids have many courses to study, many groups to join and all are on the internet. They don’t have to really live in reality. Finally, social media has some benefits for teenagers that we can deny. They can make friends online or keep in touch with cousins easily. Instead of hanging out in a cafeteria, they would like to meet up on Messenger, discord… which are much more economical.

In my opinion, information exchange face to face is a key to how society works. There are some solutions to encourage kids to raise their initiative in contacting people in reality. Parents have to set rules for their kids using electronic devices. Children are allowed to be online at a certain time a day such as no phone on the dinner table, no chatting online before bed, using only 30 minutes at relaxing time. Family and school are responsible for spending more time with children or students. They should take kids outside, go camping frequently in order to enjoy fresh air and to meet up with people. In addition, last but not least, parents should encourage children to invite friends to their house for an outdoor barbecue, playing sports and even for dinner.

In conclusion, for a healthy generation, for the future of the nation, people would consider that overusing social networks is a troublesome case. Pressing measures are necessary.