Task 2: Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It is true that dwellers of certain area do not make a visit to local historical places as well as galleries and museums. There are some probable reasons behind it and potential solution to this is to promote and made them more appealing for visit by locals.

The main reason that inhabitants tend to ignore historical site is that they generally aware about history of a place and the most have already seen local attractions and would rather prefer to spend their time and money on other activities. Meanwhile tourists coming in any place have a purpose to learn about the culture and tradition of the place as fast as possible and the best way to do it to visit museums and historical sites. In addition, they have free time and prepared budget for this kind activities.

There are few measures, which can be taken in order to increase interest in museums and historical places among local people. First, authorities should campaign in order to promote and encourage locals to visit them. In addition, price of the tickets should be less for local people in comparison with foreigners. Furthermore, a good way of promotion is to invite famous exhibitions to local museums and conduct historical reconstructions and festivals on historical sites. All these measures will attract a lot of local people and tourists as well. As a result, local tourisms will be blooming and inhabitants of the area will be interested in supporting it.

In conclusion, the issue of not visiting museums and historical places by locals is widespread around the world and this is because inhabitants of an area generally know their own history and probably already visited them. Various measures can applied in order to appeal them and it will probably lead to a new era of the tourism in the area.