Technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, high-tech technologies play a crucial role in human life. Undoubtedly, cutting-edge equipment has more profound impacts on the way that children take their spare time to do something. Although it is undeniable that this may bring people some benefits such as opportunities for reaching new knowledge and helping children have a bright future, some disadvantages including the passive lifestyle and the depressed feelings of children should be considered.

It is undeniable that the developments of the technological revolution also create more precious chances for students in studying. In fact, If children can take advantage of their spare time to search for some useful knowledge, they will learn new skills and broaden their common knowledge. After a while, they can even major in some challenging fields. For example, youtube and podcasts from mobile phones are extremely helpful for studying the international language process. Besides, they can actively keep in touch with their long- lasting friends, helping them have more close-knit relationships. As a result, they will feel happy and comfortable.

There are two widely-observed disadvantages. One of which is that some children have been paying attention to appealing online games so they can allocate most of their time to playing games on mobile phones. This, in the long run, can make them prefer staying at home to having little interest in outdoor activities. Sooner or later, they will be able to lead a passive lifestyle. In addition, the more free time they have on modern technologies, the less meaningful time they have to get on well with parents. Namely, offspring will prioritize using computers and mobile phones instead of having a conversation with their parents, meaning that they will be incapable of expressing their feelings and mindset with other family members. As a result the generation gap may be increased significantly and the relationships between them can be worsened considerably.

In conclusion, the alteration of technological revolution may affect the way children spend most of their time. Personally, I think some disadvantages including the decline of close-knit family relationships and passive lifestyle should be taken into account rather than the benefits which are opportunities for contacting friends and reaching new knowledge.