Tests and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries.

Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Evaluation of students is an essential part of education. Tests and examinations are the most preferred methods in many countries. Even though there are other practices like checking the ability of a student in applying acquired knowledge in real life situations, and personal interviews, some people believe that the method of examination has educational benefits which outweigh its disadvantages. This argument is partially correct.

First of all, conducting an examination is comparatively easier for evaluation, as it is cost effective and time-saving. We know that interviewing every student to check whether they have learned things properly is a cumbersome task. In this aspect, tests prove to be more advantageous.

Secondly, tests also provide an impartial assessment of students, as there exists a common guideline for evaluation. Every test or examination will have a well-defined answer key which will help the teacher or evaluator to grant marks without being partial to students.

However, I cannot deny the fact that there are some disadvantages to this conventional system. There is a chance of by-hearting concepts and ideas and transferring them into the answer paper without complete understanding. Another serious issue is with the preparation of question papers. There are several reported incidents of question paper leakage across the world, and it is hard to prevent

To conclude, I don’t completely agree with the traditionally followed method of evaluation process. In fact, it requires suitable modifications with the help of advanced technology.