There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

In this day and age, we are experiencing a prosperity of music worldwide and almost everyone can find his or her favourite music genre. In this essay I will elaborate on the possible reasons that music is necessary to our daily life and the significance of traditional music.

It is unquestionable that music plays an important role in our life. From the very beginning of the human culture, our ancestors sung and invented simple musical instruments in order to express their emotions. It is no exaggeration to say that the history of human is the history of musical development. Besides, in today's accelerated pace of life, people have less direct opportunities to communicate with others. Under this circumstance, music works as a bridge to interlink people from different areas as they can generate sentimental resonate towards the same tune. In addition, music can regulate people's emotions. When one is frustrated, for example, listening to positive and vivacious tunes can possibly make him feel lighter and brighter.

On the other hand, with the development of the international contemporary music such as pop or rock, traditional music are in less popularity especially among young generation. In my opinion, traditional music is a non-material heritage of a culture, which represents their long history. Those music genres have great artistic value and they are precious treasure of a country, which should be protected and inherited by young generations. Although some of them are difficult to appreciate compared with the widespread pop music, they have their own irreplaceable aesthetic and researching value. Therefore they are equally important with the international music and should be emphasised by governments and cultural protecting organisations.

In the light of these facts, music is essential to individual and also the whole society. Meanwhile, people should focus more on appreciating traditional music as they are of no less importance than the international modern music.