There are more workers to work from home and more students to study from home. This is because computer technology is more and more easily accessible and cheaper. Do you think it is a positive or negative development.

In today’s world of science and technology, more and more people have been working or studying from home. From my point of view, I truly believe that it is a positive development.

On the one hand, I concur that utilizing technology in working and studying from home is certainly a positive development. Firstly, the Internet is now widely used around the world and Internet-connected devices such as laptops, smartphones, tablets,… are more affordable so it has never been easier to establish connections between employers and employees or teachers and students. Secondly, taking advance of some of the popular software such as Trello, Telegram, Zoom,… can help managers handle their activities online, easily, and professionally. Moreover, they can also use these tools to give tasks to their employees without a personal meeting.

On the other hand, I am also convinced that with the aids of telecommunication technology, we can now work in some of the hardest situations. Taking the coronavirus disaster in 2020 as a prime example, in some Western countries, people are not allowed to get out of their home and almost every social activities from sport, entertainment, education,… must be postponed but people still find a way to continue their new normal daily life by remote working and studying. Meetings and learning are now held online which not only maintains the social-distancing in this pandemic time but also reduces the traveling cost.