There have been many invention in human history, such as the wheel. Some people think the most important thing is the internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Throughout the history of human being, there have been many revolutionary advances in technology. While it is traditionally believed that wheel is the most important invention, I completely agree with people who consider the internet to be the most important technological breakthrough of all time.

First of all, it is the internet which impacts on the transmission of knowledge and information of people world-wide. As a result, sharing information in the old ways has become obsolete. For example, the internet makes distance learning possible for people who are computer-literate and stay away from schools. In many colleges and universities, students and teachers can gain access to the intranet to look for files or download podcasts. In business, the internet is also responsible for changes in how people work and communicate with each other. Video conferencing enables people to discuss and share information through the long distance without travelling across the world. Additionally, the internet has changed the customer's habits much. People now express a strong preference for shopping online or e-commerce.

Secondly, the internet also has remarkable impact on the communication in the social lives of human being. With the growth of social networks such as Facebook, Twitter, Link In, etc., we are now can share what our friends or families are doing, keep update with the social activities around us as well. Thanks to the internet, people are able to make more friends over the world, and something or someone can go viral within a few minutes.

All in all, I would argue that the internet is the greatest invention of all time, as nothing is more important than sharing knowledge.