While many people go to university for academic study, more people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. Do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that more people should do vocational training instead of pursuing higher education due to a lack of qualified blue-collar workers nowadays. I firmly agree with this argument because of two main reasons, which will be explained in this essay.

Chief of these is that vocational training is considered more financially suitable for many people. While tertiary education can cost a fortune, especially in the cases of renowned and prestigious universities, vocational training is more affordable. Moreover, nowadays a considerable number of college graduates are struggling with unemployment, which is a problem not commonly seen in blue-collar jobs. Workers such as plumbers or electricians can start making money right away after finishing their training, which is extremely necessary and beneficial for those who come from poor families.

Added to this, choosing vocational training could guarantee a more stable and desirable career prospect. Some might be afraid that blue-collar workers will be replaced in the near future due to the rapid development of technology, however, I am not entirely convinced by this line of reasoning. It is true that robots took the jobs of many industrial workers when they first came out decades ago, but it has been proved that they have limits and cannot obtain the flexibility and profession of a plumber or an electrician. Furthermore, what people are more increasingly concerned about is artificial intelligence, and these man-made minds are more likely to become a threat for white-collar workers instead of those who work in labor.

In conclusion, I completely support the idea of encouraging more people to do vocational training because of two main factors: financial benefit and stable future prospects.