These days, people often move around. They often live in several different places in their lifetime. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both?

Nowadays, the majority of individuals frequently migrate to settle in some places so as to enjoy their lifetime. There are some advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon which I will elaborate more below.

Regarding the benefits, settling in different areas could acknowledge diverse ethnics and cultures of each places by being a part of local communities and events. This leads individual to be more tolerant to indigenous customs. For instance, Japanese are used to taking off shoes then using slippers inside the room, while the USA keeps using it straight away. Furthermore, individuals could build wider social network, effective communication skills and acquire a mutually beneficial relationship. Apparently, the influence of strategic alliance or consortia notches up remarkable career success along with expanding business and developing local livelihood, as Jack Ma firstly launched Alibaba Group in his apartment after relentless effort.

Conversely, this view might show drawbacks that the stereotype of social culture towards newcomers including discrimination with malicious rumours becomes one major problem for non-native communities. In addition, certain age groups, primarily young generation, might witness an identity crisis in the long run — having been influenced by current lifestyle which they reside in. Cited by Journal Social and Personality Psychology, those who are vulnerable to receive the concept of origin culture would be hard to attach their birth culture aroused by over-changing surroundings in their lives.

In conclusion, the positive sides of the tendency of human migration during their whole life may include acknowledging numerous cultural differences as well as expanding career path. Meanwhile, the drawbacks of this phenomenon should be considered as well.