these days, people in some countries are living in a throwaway society. what are its causes and impacts can it have?

The excessively repetition of buying single-use items then discard immediately after one use in today's society is quite alarming as it is forming a throwaway society and culture. There are numerous factors that formulate a wide range of consequences, which will be outlined in the essay.

Exhaustively influenced by consumerism, manufacturers are targeting to produce more disposable items and not focusing on the durability, since it is relatively cheaper. Besides, with the continuous appearance of newly released products flooding the market, customers are stuck in a loop of repurchasing the goods and substitute them even before they become unusable. Due to the extreme rivalry between companies, cutting edge appliances are being mass-produced. Buyers, more often than not want the best product, are being manipulated by consuming habits. Additionally, our purpose of purchasing goods has changed over the decades. For instance, out decisions are influenced by many incentives, be it for better appearance or new fashionable patterns.

Regarding the potential impacts of this trend, perhaps, the most obvious matter in disputing is the detrimental effects on the environment. Plastic bags, disposable tableware, and other non-biodegradable materials are suffocating and drowning wildlife, creating an inevitably large mass of wastage on both land and sea. Another issue is the over-exploitation of natural resources. For example, those short-lived merchandises require not only more materials such as wood, plastic and metal to produce, but also energy in the form of oil and electricity, especially in the production of electronic appliances which need rare earth elements. Finally, living in this throwaway trend, one might become obsessed and always want to spend more, which could later create many financial difficulties.

In conclusion, the cause of a throwaway society is mostly associated with consumerism, while the effects are linked to wastage and damages to the environment, as well as personal finance states.