Today, majority of children are raised ny their grandparents due to the fact that their parents are busy working. To what extent do you think it affects the whole family ?

Nowadays, in most families, both father and mother are the breadwinners, so the children have to be raised by their grandparents. This situation affects the family in both positive and negative way that I am going to analyze in this essay.

On the positive side, looking after grandchildren helps to shorten the generation gap between grandparents and them. Grandparents will accompany their kids with a variety of activities such as reading books, learning or even playing games. This leads to the fact that grandparents have more opportunities to make sense of their children’s thinking, which are certainly different from theirs. In some situations, they become children’s closest members to share their secrets. Besides, in comparison with parents, grandparents have more experience in taking care of children. Their preciously previous experience now is used to provide the most complete care to their nephews and nieces. Therefore, the children not only learn knowledge but they are also given many important moral lessons.

On the negative side, it is generally seen that grandparents may be out of love, pamper and spoil the grandchildren. They seem to satisfy all of their wishes, even if the desires sometimes are quite absurd. Children then form several bad instincts which are completely hard to remove. Another disadvantage is that some attitudes of grandparents are not up to date and not suitable to teach children. For example, grandparents always tell children not to make a lies; however, children should make white lies in certain events to avoid hurting other’s feeling. This leads to a problem that grandparents and parents can struggle to harmonize their opinions about how to teach the children in many aspects. In such cases, children are the worst sufferers.

In conclusion, I believe that both grandparents and grandchildren benefit from this situation. Children are raised greatly and grandparents also have more time with them. Besides, the whole family must find ways to eliminate all the negative effects.