Today, many people prefer to manage a business on their own and work independently. There are several reasons according to this attitude, as well as some drawbacks that it may bring for the owners. In this essay, these reasons and minus points will be mentioned.

People who run their own business assert several various reasons for their choice. Firstly, some of them had become tired of fixed time work, and they need to experience a flexible time career. Take a full-time employee as a patently obvious example; he/she at least punch in at 8 a.m and punch out at 4 p.m, and when he/she gets home, it may be about 5 p.m; at the time he/she cannot spend enough time with his/her children and spouse or take them out since he/she tends to be tired and need some relaxation. Secondly, some people are natural-born independent individuals with bossy temperature, and they cannot suffer from being ordered by others or obey all words and rules of another one entirely as their boss. So they could be more satisfied and even more successful in a self-employed business, they also can be more productive for the community.

On the other hand, this kind of business may bring several drawbacks to the founders. In general, most people who set up a business are expected to employ their relatives or family members, not qualified or trained skills for the job. So the employer may be at risk of employing inappropriate alternatives for the company. This could lead to declining the productivity of the business and may make a stressful work environment for both employer and employee.

In conclusion, business founders have some motivations to build up the self-employment business, although this could have some barriers or disadvantages for them that they should be aware of them if they want to succeed.