Today, more and more parents depend on their children's grandparents for childcare. Do you think this is a positive or negative trend?

Long working hours and heavy financial burdens are pushing mothers and fathers in modern society to leave their kids under the care of grandparents. Although parenthood is important in children’s growth and they do need parental care and guide, I still believe that there are many advantages for grandparents to take a part in childcare.

We have to admit the necessity for relying on the old generation for childcare in most families. Young parents are usually faced with heavy pressures from work, thus it is unrealistic for them to take good care of the kid without any help. It is neither economic for them to quit the job and become a housewife or a househusband -- this will further add to the financial burdens of the family. Therefore, grandparents become the best babysitters.

More importantly, it is undoubted that both grandchildren and grandparents will benefit from it. Young kids can be looked after carefully without extra costs. Meanwhile, retired people can realize more values and become less lonely by taking care of kids. This is also beneficial on a social stage -- there will be less empty nest elderly, thus making the whole society more harmonious.

However, that is not to say we should underestimate the importance of parental care in bringing up a child. Admittedly, parents should also participate in children’s growth and inculcate them with the latest and mainstream value in modern society. Nevertheless, regarding the fact that most of them still have to work, aid from the old generation is also necessary.

In summary, I personally believe that it is necessary and beneficial for grandparents to shoulder the responsibility of childcare. In the mean time, parents’ function should never be replaced. Only through the cooperation of both parents and grandparents can we ensure the kids a healthy and happy childhood.