Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

It is true that nowadays students prefer to choose other disciplines rather than science as their majors in the university. In my own view, there are several reasons that have contributed to this and it brings both positive and negative impacts to the society.

The main causes of this phenomenon are generally twofold. Firstly, learning science requires both true enthusiasm and a high intelligence quality, which is a obstacle for the majority. It is not like other subjects such as art or literature where you can make up and make high achievements through hardworking, instead, the gift that one is born with takes a significantly large part in both study process and career development. Meanwhile, it is a field requires a long-term efforts and investments, and sometimes it does not bring profits in short term. In this respect, it might not be a good choice for normal citizens. Furthermore, people’s choice is largely influenced by social demands. It is notable that nowadays graduates from engineering, finance and accounting are more popular in job markets. Therefore, it is not a surprise that people prefer to choose subjects that can bring them a stable job and a comparatively high salary in a short term.

Undoubtedly, this phenomenon has brought significant impacts to our society, both negatively and positively. On the one hand, limited teaching resource can be shared by fewer of students. In this way, each student can obtain more resources, which would help them in future career. On the other hand, it is also potentially hazardous that fewer talents will contribute to scientific research and development in the future, which is obviously a great loss for every country.

In conclusion, there are both individual and social causes that should be responsible for this phenomenon, and the results are generally two-sided.