Today more and more people are using mobile phones and computers. Thus, people are
losing the ability to communicate face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?
It is true that cell phones and computers play crucial roles in our lives. Some people
claim that this is the reason for declining communication skills. While I accept that modern
technologies make our lives more convenient, I believe that they have some negative effects on
our communication ability.
On the one hand, there are several advantages of using these electronic devices. The
biggest advantage is that cell phones and computers allow people to communicate with each
other more quickly and conveniently. For example, thanks to the Internet, managers can utilize
computers to contact their partners from other countries. As a result, they can save more time and
money to do other vital work of their business. Furthermore, many mobile phones and computers
now have Skype and therefore we can talk to friends and family who are far away. We can
actually see them, whereas before we had to rely on expensive long-distance calls or letters
which took ages to arrive.
On the other hand, this trend may have some drawbacks. Firstly, although people can
make many new friends via the Internet easily, they rarely meet and talk directly with each other.
This will let people be under illusions about their acquaintances in the virtual world. Secondly,
because of extreme focusing on cell phones or computers, people no longer want to spend time
with their true friends and their families. My close friend, for instance, is so addicted to chatting
and playing games on her smart phone that she ignores everyone when we gather and talk about
funny stories together.
In conclusion, although modern technologies bring us numerous benefits, it is true that
the communication ability of people will be improved if they restrict their usage of mobile
phones and computers.