Topic 07/06/19: More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think a solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, obesity is becoming a problem for all ages. this problem is being debated by a lot of people about its solution. Some people say that the price of high-fat foods should be increased. In my view, I disapprove of this statement because it cannot completely solve the problem.

Firstly, increasing the price will not make the fat decrease. There are lots of people, especially young people willing to buy fast food or canned food although the price is high. The problem here is that the consciousness of choosing healthy food for the body doesn't pay attention. On the contrary, people only care about taste. For instance, in some stores like Lotteria and Pizza Hut, fast food or canned food contains a lot of fat, but people continue to consume these items although they must pay a high cost. Hence, people are ready to buy this food despite the higher price.

Last but not least, eating fatty food is not the only reason for being overweight. A significant reason for obesity is that people do not exercise regularly. When exercising, the body will expend excess energy to keep the body healthy that can prevent obesity. nowadays, young people tend to spend their time watching TV or playing video games instead of doing outdoor activities. Many experts have proven that being inactive will increase the risk of accumulating excess energy. Therefore, being overweight is not only by eating fatty food but also for other reasons.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the opinion that increasing the price of fattening foods is a solution to cut down the number of overweight people. The prices cannot control the amount of fat in food. Moreover, doing exercise more often is an effective way to control people’s weight.