The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

At present, it is true that traditional family mealtime is becoming a thing of the past. There are some reasons that can explain the change of this pattern of behaviour, and accompanying with the significant impacts on family members' health and life.

On the one hand, it can be seen that there are some causes why people no longer spend many times with each other on meals. To begin with, busy work and life seem to make people more distant, and they do not have opportunities to eat a regular meal. For instance, for many families, parents must work so late on their companies, up to 7 pm or 8 pm, which leads to them no longer having time to cook a dinner completely or have a meal together. Another reason is the eating habit of some children in the current technological society. Many children are often impatient enough to eat at the table because they are fascinated by entertainment devices such as TV or smartphone. Therefore, parents can allow their children to have a meal in front of the TV or sit in front of the computer or the smartphone rather than together with their family.

On the other hand, some serious consequences can be noticed for the life and health of family members. Initially, the shortage of family meals influences negatively the relationship among people in a family. Modern society with stressful working makes the contact of people increasingly vague, and meals always the point when people can meet and talk together with their relative. Hence, no longer these meals is losing a place to people connect and share their feelings. Additionally, this situation also creates an unhealthy routine for people's health. Having a meal on time is an essential factor to ensure the full absorption of nutrients for developing their body, especially children's one. If this habit changes, parents cannot provide children with a healthy diet, which can cause eating disorders for some children.

In conclusion, some reasons can be identified for the decrease in shared family meals, and this causes negative influences on people's life and health.