The tradition of families getting together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

Many people believe that the disappearance of families’ meals is increasingly noticeable, and one of the main reasons for that is the high expense of life. The primary effect is that individuals can lose deep connection with their loved ones in family.

People are having fewer together meals with their family because they have to work long hours to pay for their family’s living standard. This usually happens in cities where the cost of living is high, and people have no choice to work overtime to earn extra money. For instance, the utilities, food, and housing costs in urban areas are three times more expensive than in other parts of the countryside. Consequently, this leaves a tremendous financial burden on individuals forcing them to stay late at a company.

If this trend continued existing for a long time, it would make members in the family less connected with each other. Without the existence of family meals, people can not share and have wonderful conversations that strengthen their family bonds. People will not have a deep comprehension of struggles, hardships, and problems that each member of their family faces. This impedes individuals from empathizing and giving useful advice as emotional support for their loved ones. Researchers show that individuals who regularly skip family meals are more likely to feel lonely and experience mental health issues than those spending quality meal time with their family.

In conclusion, the neglection of having family meals springs from the high living expenditure which people have to work more time to provide for their family; however, if the phenomenon prolongs, it will weaken individuals’ connection that binds relationships in their family.