The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

It is true that traditional family mealtime is disappearing. There are many reasons leads to this negative changes which significantly impact on family life, relationship, and health.

In my opinion, there are 2 main reasons why people decrease their time for family mealtimes. Firstly, in modern life, people are too busy to spent time with family and the close-knit family is disappearing in the face of economic pressure. Some people pretty concentrate on their work and they take all their time to finalize their works and deadlines. Especially, in a one-parent family, single dad and mom have to try to earn money and support the family, and therefore, it is impossible to arrange a regular time for meals with their children. Secondly, young people are often too impatient to eat at the table. Some parents allow their kids to eat in front of the computer or television or with friends after school.

The consequences are for family life, relationship, and children's health. In terms of family, this problem leads to family relationships can be broken down. Mealtime is considered a feature of stable family background. Family mealtime is time to share stories, give guidance, and make plans together. From that, parents can spring kids' good personalities. In terms of children's health, family meals are opportunities to provide healthy food. Without this routine, kids sometimes eat junk food which is not good for their health. Besides, eating while watching television can hurt the stomach because children do not focus on eating.

In conclusion, some reasons can be identified for the decline in shared family meals and the impacts are negative.