Traditions are about the past and innovation is about the future, and it has been argued that we need to let go of traditions for the sake of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? What role should traditions have in our lives?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Traditions and innovations are two inevitable and highly integrated part of human civlizations. Many people in the modern world emphasise on innovations abandoning traditions to become progressive for addressing the issues that were existed. I completely agree that innovation and progress should be taken into account over the traditions. While, it is undeniable that traditions and culture are integral part of our daily life and provide the basis for our future.

To begin with, innovations and discovery are the result of intention to build our modern civilization. Since the beginning of human world, people faced challenges that were solved by finding new ideas. It is a common trait of mankind to improve and evolve from the present situation. This led them to search for and think about the new ideas that could upgrade their life, solve the existing issues and make life easier. They invented fire to cook, ship to travel, other modes of transportation to faster travel, new cooking methods, cusines, clothes, and modern day electricity, internet and computer. All those happened due to innovative approach of human civilization. Therefore, there is no way to deny the imprtance of innovation and progress for our society.

On the other hand, many people love to stick to the traditions. For instance, some people still use bicycles instead of motorised vehicles. Still many people try to be religious while others not. Therefore, always there are some gaps between old generations and new generations. Thus the arguments are created. However, traditions are unique identifier of a society.

Though, for the sake of progress, my stance is to give up of traditions. But traditions have certain important roles in the society. They help to create some values in the society that positively influence a community to be a good social being. Nevertheless, people should have freedom and choice to carry or follow the traditions. This is not something hard and fast rule that may ruin a human being.