Traffic congestion is becoming increasingly problematic in major cities. What solution can you suggest to solve the problems?

It is generally accepted that the quantity of transportation in city centres is growing. Recently, the problem of traffic jams has been increasing incrementally leading to various problems such as environmental or mental and physical health. Thus, governments should have certain measures to address these issues. In this essay, I will offer a few solutions that might alleviate this traffic problem.

First and foremost, if the city centres are upgraded in terms of infrastructure, they would be spacious enough to reduce the probability of traffic congestion. With the increase in parking lots as well as wider roads, city dwellers might have a better experience while joining the traffic. For instance, a tunnel or a cross-bridge for specific vehicles at high volume intersections would surely mitigate the problem. However, this is an expensive solution due to the huge amount of investment it might require to carry out.

In addition, encouragement in using public transportation is another great solution with higher promising that governments should put into consideration. If a great number of travellers using private vehicles are replaced by public transportation such as buses or trains, it would certainly lead to a drop in traffic jams. For example, in Japan, most workers opt for electric trains rather than private vehicles when it comes to commutation since it is faster and safer. Of course, a large investment is also needed to improve the public transportation facilities, however, it could be covered by increasing taxes for using private transportation.

In conclusion, with the increasing number of people and vehicles in urban areas, traffic confections are inevitable. However, I believe if the governments could expand the roads or create an incentive for people to use public transportation, the issues could be solved.