Some people believe that competitive sports, both team and individual, have no place in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A common belief is held that competitive sports such as football or volleyball have no benefit for students. In my opinion, such games would certainly have certain drawbacks, however I believe it would help children grow much better both mentally and physically in the long term.

First and foremost, it seems that these kind of sports provide students opportunities to make friends with not only the teammates but also the opponents. In order words, it helps students develop the essential social skills and might as well the teamwork skills, which will be helpful in the future. For example, the bounding of class members would be tighten if they have to join effort so that they could win the other classes in a sport competition. In addition, these activities might teach student to work harder in order to achieve goals.

However, competitive sports are not flawless. Violence situations, which no one wants, might happen if certain team members become too aggressive during the match. This could lead to many other misdemeanors after the match. Thus, sportsmanship, one of the most important thing in sport and rarely mentioned at schools, should be taught thoroughly. In addition, distraction is another problem that parents are concerned with because it could draw children attention away from their academic studying. Nonetheless, this is also another great opportunities for kids, who are want to be a pro-player rather than a white collar worker, to recognize their dream.

In conclusion, it is true that allowing kids to play competitive games at school could have certain demerits, however I reckon that it could be outweighed by the merits of it if schools and parents give students enough attention.