Unemployment is one of the biggest problems of contemporary society What do you think are the main causes of unemployment What solutions can you suggest

Seeking livelihood has become the most challenging issue in today’s world. This essay will first dig deeper into the causes of unemployment at present and brought up some solutions to this pressing problem in our contemporary society.

To begin with, there are various causes of unemployment. One reason is the automation of the manufacturing industry that results in rapid decrease in employment of manpower. As we are living in the technology era, technologists and scientists are pushing back the frontiers of knowledge every day and we have become very good at harnessing technology. As a result, companies these days prefer to take advantage of cutting -edge machinery to achieve higher levels of productivity. For instance, the studies of Oxford university researchers found that automation in the workplace results in a cut down on the number of supervisors and managers, likely because automated processes require less oversight. Another reason for increasing the rate of unemployment is the rising population. In fact, due to the fast pace of population growth, governments are not able to create enough jobs. For example, in India there are more than 100 applicants for every job vacancy.

However, measures must be taken by the government and international bodies to tackle this increasing global concern. The first solution would be enhancing the general understanding of computers by people. As modern technologies inevitably replace human labour, the number of jobs which involve the use of computers and advanced devices increase. Hence, the authorities should provide citizens with adequate knowledge of technology in order that job seekers meet the requirements of new jobs. Secondly, the government should strictly plan to help entrepreneurs to expand their businesses by subsidising or paying them low interest loans. This way the private section will provide job opportunities with the help of the government.

To conclude, although finding a proper job has become a big problem nowadays because of automation and the rapid growth of population, the governments can tackle the problem with educating job applicants and helping employers to expand their activities.