The use of corporal punishment (physically hitting students) in schools is in decline, yet it should be used to improve behaviour.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Like the two sides of a coin, there are debates regarding the use of corporal punishment for better behaviour. Various points pertaining to the negative effects of such punishment have been highlighted below supporting my views against such actions.

Firstly, in India such punishment are popular as teachers find it as the easiest way to alter an young adults behaviour. However they are not aware that such punishments might not have a long term result. Moreover, aggressive behaviour in students is fueled as a result of such harsh punishment. A child is also psychologically affected as he is punished in front of his friends leading to the loss of self confidence. For example, a student of class 8 in Madurai took his life as a result of such punishment. Despite this incident strict actions were not taken to prevent such incidents from happening again.

Secondly, Many countries have inculcated the use of positive reinforcement to correct the behaviour of young adult. This had seen promising results across tests conducted in various countries. In addition to which many countries have started to implement appreciation of a child in public before his friends while correcting his behaviour in private for better results. For Instance, in china students are disciplined by making them clean the place they use such as classroom, common area and so on to create a sense of responsibility and cleanliness as they grow.

To sum up, the positive reinforcement alters the behaviour for a student to the extent he does not repeat the mistakes. Indian education board should also take strict actions against corporal punishment.