The use of mobile phone is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places and so mobile phones should also be banned.
To what extent do you agree or disagee?
Although smoking and the nuisance of mobile phones are both antisocial activities, I disagree with a ban on
cell phones. I believe that smoking does not have any good side to it and therefore, its ban is justified,
whereas the cell phone has its own set of advantages and so should not be banned.
To begin with, smoking causes harm to the smoker as well as the non-smoker who is in the propinquity of
the smoker. Studies have proven that the passive smoker is even more at risk of lung cancer than the active
smoker. This is because he inhales the second-hand smoke, emitted by the smoker. Similarly, in public
places, the cell phone can distract other people and divert their attention. For instance, in libraries, people
can be easily distracted through ringtones of incoming calls or people talking over the phone loudly with
their loved ones. Even in public places like hospitals, cell phones can easily interfere with the medical
equipment and also irritate the patients waiting to see the doctor. Moreover, its usage in religious places
can spoil the peace of those paying obeisance.
However, despite all the abuses of cell phones, one cannot deny the uses of mobiles. They are one's easily
available help in case of an emergency. They also keep loved and near ones well connected. No matter
where one goes, cell phones are the only hope of keeping families connected without any hassle' The SMS
is also a convenient way to keep in touch with your loved ones when no one has the time for writing long
letters. Mobiles are also a great source of entertainment. You can listen to songs, play games, get live
cricket scores, market-updates and even the headlines. They are convenient, easily accessible and of great
use.
Moreover, these modern devices are very important in this commercial and financial society. Therefore,
the total banning of pagers and mobile phones in public places is not practical. lt will cause inconvenience
and the people would not be able to catch up with the modern trend of communication. Cellphones have
become vital tools in today's world and blocking them in public places will result in a gross violation of
personal freedom.
To sum up, mobiles were invented for our convenience and not to create nuisance. lf used judiciously,
wisely and with public etiquette, mobiles can be of great use. Comparing the cell phone to smoking and
banning the cell phone would not be practical.