as well as making money, Companies should have a social responsibilities

Besides making more money to run their business, enterprises also need to have public responsiblities. In my opinion, while generating profit is the top priority for each company, I agree that they should also conduct their business in a socially responsible manner.

On the one hand, the efforts of companies to maximize their profits may have some benefits for society as a whole. Firstly, the higher the profits earned by enterprises, the more taxes they pay to the government. As a consequence, authorities may have more revenue to spend in key fields, including education and health care, which leads to an improvement in the quality of life of the whole community. Secondly, not only gaining more benefits but also creating more opportunity to grow their business. For example, firms could use their capital to expand their production or making more job opportunities within the community.

On the other hand, there are strong reasons why businesses should also accept that they have social responsibilities. The first reason is that, their activities have an effect on the environment. Without controls production processes may result in serious environmental degradation, such as global warming stemming from factory emissions or the irresponsible disposal of industrial waste. For example, if factories installed waste treatment systems instead of discharging chemical wastes into river, water pollution could be controlled. Another reason is that enterprises should help those who are less fortune, since they have the money to enhanced their public image thorough philanthropic actions such as providing scholarships and giving charitable donations.

In conclusion, although I recognize that making profits is the fundamental principle of business, I would argue that all business should profoundly reflect upon their social responsibilities.