“Some people think that getting a degree from a university is the best way to guarantee a good job, others believe that it would be better to go straight into work and get experience instead.”

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There are two opinions on getting degree. Some people think that it will guarantee a job, while another view is that it is better to get experience straight at work. Personally, I find both of this views wrong.

The idea that degree is the best way to guarantee a good job means that studying at university will exactly provide a job with big wage, nice colleagues and etc. This is the view of irresponsible person, because nothing and nobody can guarantee a good job, it is the area of personal responsibility. Students, for example, have to study hard and develop not only hard-skills, but soft- ones, that is what employers need, but it still will not guarantee getting the best job. Also, the world is changing and the structure of economics is changing too, so some kinds of job will not be in demand whatever good they was. For example, there is a huge number of people with degrees who lost they job by means of advanced techniques.

The opinion that it is better to go straight into work means practice without theory and it will take people too much time to avoid mistakes. Studying will not guarantee a good job, but it will guarantee getting a basic knowledge, which can help at practice. People will spend a lot of time studying on their mistakes, which a regular and common. While, for example, students at university have already known how to avoid it.

On balance, I am sure that both views are not correct. Degree will not guarantee a good job, but it will guarantee getting needed knowledges, which will complement experience.