Write about the following topic:

In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people.

To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In nations worldwide, the average lifespan of people has increased due to healthcare advancements. Although there may seem some difficulties to the respective governments but advantages of having an elderly population does more good than harm.

To begin with, having an elderly crowd provides the society with the benefit of learning from the experienced citizens who have lived long enough and had learnt different traditional and cultural diversities which are not that famous today. For instance, a grandchild can learn traditional local languages from his grandparents which he could not learn from his parents as they themselves are not aware of it. This helps in passing the generational knowledge to future generations ensuring that tradition is kept alive. However, it is difficult for the government to keep track of and recognize different local languages, these add in to the cultural diversity of the nation.

Another point what adds to the advantage of having aged people within the society is their vast experience in domains like finance, business, and politics. Even today, big companies and organizations prefer experienced employees to run the administrative tasks and take key decision as it is proven that people with enough knowledge and hands-on experience tend to take more effective and correct decisions as compared to someone with less experience. Let's understand this with an example, an veteran with over 35 years of CEO experience was chosen to be a mentor for a company's board of directors who succeeded in bringing their true potential out which could have been done only by someone with experience. Experience cannot be traded for newer or more advanced technologies and governments value this. As of today we can see that almost 80-90% of the ministers and cabinet ministers in most of the countries are elderly people.

In conclusion, the advantages of having an elderly population disregards the disadvantages of the same as there is just so much to gain from the elderly people which cannot be supplemented by the growing technology.