You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Natural resources are always priceless and valuable for human development. However, the environmental situation is getting worse due to human activities. Therefore, the only factor that can fix this problem is the people, but which scale do we need to conduct this project? I strongly believe that each person has a role in protecting and conserving the environment.

Most governments in the world are more concerned about the economic benefits further than environmental issues although they all have signed an agreement to cut off emissions. That’s the reason why individuals have to take action to influence the whole society. Take Niger as an example, decades of drought, land-clearing, and demand for firewood had left Niger nearly treeless. Efforts of the government to reforest had failed until the local people find a way to re-establish woodlands with a little outside help, and almost no money. The trees weren’t planted but they sprout from the mold roots. Now, fresh trees are popping up in the village after the village. As a result, soils are more fertile and moister, and crop yields are up.

However, individual encouragement and attempts are not enough because the changes just happen on a small scale. If we want to have a larger effect, we will need a global collaboration that comes from governments. Take Niger as an example again, after this country’s success in restoring a majority of their forest, neighboring countries already are racing to follow Niger’s example. They ask for assistance and support from experienced Nigerian farmers. The approach is expanding into East Africa, Tanzania, Kenya, and Ethiopia, and it is attracting interest outside Africa as well.

In conclusion, the efforts to restore the natural environment require actions from both individuals and governments, of those the personal responsibility is the point. I highly recommend the government should provoke and encourage more campaigns with their power and influence.