You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others believe those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

There is a argument that recent building constructions in big cities should be kept under government's supervision, while other assume that finance providers should be the ones to design freely. This essay will discuss both views and propose my opinion.

On the one hand, the owners of the building should design it to their will. First, buildings are considered private property according to many countries' regulations, which gives ones who finance them the right to construct freely. Regardless of purposes, this freedom gives residents the feelings of comfort and convenience, as they are in control of their surrounding environment. Second, diverse building designs is a way to express builders' creativity, possibly giving the urban landscape a remarkable impression. This provides a chance to boost local business with tourism, leading to the development in financial and cultural values.

On the other hand, newly constructions should comply to and be controlled by government to certain extents. First, the building must not violate the surrounding area, regarding other people's rights and the protection public property. Owners are not allowed to have design that affect others' legal possessions, for example building upper levels that spread to neighbors' land. They are also not permitted to choose designs that goes against the overall landscape of the regions, which can be offensive designs that are not suitable for public demonstrate. Second, constructions also have to serve legal purposes. For example, offices, schools and museums are some of the types allowed by laws, but centers for extreme religious or illegal production of stimulants are strictly prohibited.

In conclusion, while building owners have the right to design to their own will, it must be put under government's control according to laws and regulations.