You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.

Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words, they

Nowadays, the prevalence of children using smartphones is increasing for a variety of reasons, both for the attractiveness of technological development and for the parents. The effects can be extremely serious for them and the community, as we will discuss now.

With the dramatic development of technology, creating more and more websites and applications for smartphones, including vivid sound and images, and novelty content appealing to children, for example, YouTube, which includes both website types and application types, attracted over a million children’s views for just a children’s song. Besides, parents in this busy world must spend most of their time at work and less time with their family. As a result, when a child does not coordinate with them in daily tasks, they just use their smartphone as a tool to force their child to obey. Therefore, children are becoming more reliant on smartphones.

Turning to the effects of this trend, the most serious threat is to children’s health. Due to spending too much time on smartphones, they may have less time for outdoor activities, which will lead to a sedentary lifestyle. This is the major cause of children’s health problems, such as being overweight or even obese. In addition, there are various games on smartphones. If they are not supervised by their parents, they can become involved in negative games such as violent games. This could lead to problems ranging from skipping school to breaking the law, which will make the community less safe.

In conclusion, the factors behind the phenomenon of children spending many hours on smartphones tend to be technological growth and the children’s parents. The effects may include the children themselves and their community.